OUR AREAS OF
Our DWI Accident Attorney Will Represent You During an Extremely Challenging Time
In the U.S., approximately 40 percent of accidents are caused by alcohol consumption.
The majority of these accidents are a result of the intoxicated driver falling asleep behind the wheel. Sadly, the majority of these accidents also end in death.
If you or a loved one has recently been involved in a drunk driving accident, you need a DWI accident attorney who will provide you with the legal advice and representation you need to cover medical bills, lost wages, therapy, and property damages that resulted from this horrible accident. DWI accident attorney Humberto Enriquez is the person to call. Mr. Enriquez represents victims and families of drunk driving accidents in both Texas and New Mexico. We understand you’re going through a lot. We’re here to help.
New Mexico DWI and DUI Statistics
- In 2016, New Mexico saw 2,073 alcohol-involved accidents, of which 4.6% were fatal. Moreover, the Doña Ana County contributed to 174 of those accidents.
- Las Cruces was ranked the second city for the most alcohol-involved crashes in 2016, three of which were fatal.
- Approximately 76.8% of alcohol-involved accidents occur on urban roadways.
Laws Regarding Drunk Driving in New Mexico
New Mexico police do their best to enforce the regulations regarding drunk drivers and protect citizens from being harmed by a drunk driver. Police perform routine field sobriety tests, sobriety checkpoints, and breath alcohol concentration (BAC) tests. The state considers the following limitations for BAC:
- Over 21 years: 0.08%
- Under 21 years: 0.02% or higher
Penalties for breaking the law include:
- 1st DWI conviction: $500 and community service.
- 2nd or 3rd DWI conviction: $1,000 and up to 364 days of imprisonment with 96 mandatory days.
- 4th DWI conviction: $5,000 and up to 18 months of imprisonment with 6 mandatory months.
- Aggravated DWI:
- 1st offense: additional 48 hours.
- 2nd offense: additional 96 hours.
- 3rd offense: additional 60 days.
DUI and DWI Statistics in Texas
- In 2016, 987 Texans lost their lives in a DUI accident. Of those fatalities, 143 were passengers in a vehicle being driven by the DUI driver.
- The cities with the highest number of drunk driving crashes included El Paso with 758.
- The majority of accidents take place between 6 p.m. and 4 a.m. on Saturdays and Sundays.
What Does Texas Law Say About Drunk Driving?
In Texas, driving while intoxicated means drunk driving. Blood alcohol concentration (BAC) determines if you’re too intoxicated to drive. The current state limitations include:
- 21 years or older: 0.08%
- If you’re under 21 years old: any detectable amount of alcohol
- Commercial drivers: 0.04%
Other factors that will influence the amount of alcohol your body registers includes body weight, gender, and age.
Penalties for driving under the influence in Texas include:
- 1st DWI conviction: up to $2,000 with jail time of 72 hours to 180 days.
- 1st DWI conviction with BAC at or over 0.15%: up to $4,000 and jail time of 72 hours to one year.
- 1st DWI conviction with an open container: up to $2,000 and jail time of six to 180 days.
- 2nd DWI conviction: up to $4,000 and jail time of 30 days to one year.
- 3rd DWI conviction: up to $10,000 and jail time of two to 10 years in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice.
- Intoxication assault that causes serious injury: up to $10,000 and two to 10 years in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice.
- Intoxication Manslaughter (causes death): up to $10,000 and two to 10 years in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice.
- DWI with child (under 15 years) in a car: up to $10,000 and six to two years in State Jail Facility.
Common Injuries from DUI and DWI Accidents
According to the CDC, there are roughly 1.5 million DUI arrests made across the U.S. each year. Unfortunately, both DUI and DWI accidents are fatal or life-altering for the victims who survive.
These are the most common injuries that result from drunk driving accidents:
- Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)
- Neck and back injuries
- Loss of a limb
What To Do If You Have Been Injured in a Drunk Driving Accident
Following a DUI or DWI accident, if possible, you should report the incident to the police immediately. It’s important to provide key facts regarding who was present, how the accident unfolded, and any information that is relative to the scene. You may be asked to provide an oral or written statement. At this point, you have the right to refuse until you speak with a DWI accident attorney. As your DWI accident attorney, we will provide you with the support you need to move forward. It’s also crucial that you gather as much evidence as possible, including the names of witnesses, license plates of cars involved, and any photographic evidence of the scene.
You will also need to seek medical assistance as soon as possible. Receiving the assistance you need to recover is imperative for your health. If you are still in the hospital, our team will arrange to meet with you there. Following the diagnosis from your medical team, you may need to undergo a professional physical therapy and rehabilitation program. Our role is to secure you a compensation that covers the damages done to your physical, emotional, and financial situation.